IAQ Radio

Flashback Friday - Lew Harriman & Terry Brennan Mason - EPA Moisture Control Guidance for Design, Construction and Maintenance - Original Air Date: 7-11-2014 | Episode: 333

November 16, 2018
This week on Iaqradio+ we flashback to a great show with Lew Harriman and Terry Brennan from 7-11-24. The EPA Moisture Control Guide is one of the best, if not the best document EPA has developed in 20 years. Terry Brennan and Lew Harriman join us to discuss the document and give us their thoughts on evaluating moisture issues in buildings. If you do not have this document in your library, get it, its free and your tax dollars helped to put it together. 
Terry Brennan was the lead author for the EPA's new Guidance for Moisture Control in Buildings. He is a founder and managing partner of Camroden Associates, a building science consulting firm located in Westmoreland, New York. He began his career as a physics major at Northeastern University, but some how, some way got diverted into building science, working on the earliest research into radon problems and radon behavior in buildings, and moving on to energy and moisture issues. For the last 40 years, he's spent more time crawling around damp basements and hot attics than most normal people would find pleasant. But in return for those decades of investigation, Terry knows a LOT about what makes buildings tick... how they go wrong... and how to make sure they don't.

Lew Harriman was a contributor to the new EPA guidance for Moisture Control in Buildings on the HVAC aspects of moisture control. He began his career as an architecture student at Dartmouth, but after five years as an Air Force officer, he went to work for a manufacturer of dehumidification systems, and got permanently diverted into HVAC engineering, where he's spent the last 38 years. He is the founder of Mason-Grant Consulting, a building science consulting firm located in Portsmouth, NH. He is active in ASHRAE as the vice-chair of technical committee 1.12 (Moisture Management in Buildings), and is an ASHRAE Fellow and Distinguished Lecturer.